BSL Used Here BSL Used Here

New Chair elected for North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority


Denbighshire County Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies was elected as the Chair of the North Wales Fire and Rescue Authority at the Annual Meeting held at the Denbighshire Council Chamber, Ruthin earlier today (Monday 17th June).

Councillor Davies replaces Ynys Môn County Councillor Aled Morris Jones who has served as Chair of the Authority since last year and previously as Vice Chair for three years.

Councillor Davies began his career in local Government over 30 years ago, has twice served as the Chair of Denbighshire County Council between 1995 and 2013 and has been a member of the Fire and Rescue Authority since 1999.

On his election to serve as Chair of the Authority for the next 12 months, he said: "The path ahead of us is not expected to be a smooth one but it is my hope that we can work together to use the benefit of past experience and the facts and information we have at our disposal today to help us to successfully achieve our vision for the future.

"It is an honour to take on this role and through effective collaboration I hope to be able to guide the Authority through whatever challenges may lie ahead. We may be responsible for the provision of fire and rescue services across a substantial geographical area in North Wales, such that we are big enough to be effective, but at the same time it is significant  that as an Authority we are also small enough to care."

Conwy County Councillor Peter Lewis MBE was elected as the new Deputy Chair.  

Councillor Lewis first joined the Fire and Rescue Authority in 2012. He said: "As the new Deputy I will endeavour to do all I can to support the Chair, the Chief Fire Officer and Fire and Rescue Authority Members in ensuring North Wales is a safe place to live, work and visit, and I appreciate the confidence expressed in my ability to carry out this role."

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram

Thank you for your email address

We will shortly provide you with the appropriate information.


Thank you for your request